The Need Hierarchy

Some theories incorporate more than one type of motive. Abraham Maslow developed a motivational theory that includes both physiological and cognitive motives ranked in a hierarchy from basic to higher level. According to Maslow, individuals must first meet the most basic needs—that is, physiological survival needs—before they can attend to those of higher levels. Maslow, like Rogers, was concerned with individuals' self‐actualization, their achievement of the highest level of development The order of needs from highest (1) to lowest (7) is

  1. need for self‐actualization

  2. aesthetic needs

  3. cognitive needs

  4. esteem needs

  5. belongingness and love needs

  6. safety and security needs

  7. physiological needs