What is the size of Europe in square miles?

The earth's sixth-largest continent, Europe — about 4 million square miles in size — covers an area a little bit bigger than the United States (including Alaska and Hawaii). While the United States of America consists of 50 states, Europe spans the following 7 geographic regions:
  • Scandinavia: Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Finland, and Denmark
  • The British Isles: the United Kingdom and Ireland
  • Western Europe: France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, and Monaco
  • Southern Europe: Portugal, Spain, Andorra, Italy, Malta, San Marino, and Vatican City
  • Central Europe: Germany, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Austria, Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, and Hungary
  • Southeastern Europe: Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, Albania, Macedonia, Romania, Bulgaria, Greece, and the European part of Turkey
  • Eastern Europe: Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Belarus, Ukraine, Moldova, the European portion of Russia, and, by convention, the Transcaucasian countries of Georgia, Armenia, and Azerbaijan

And just how big is a square mile? A square mile (or section) is a land unit equal to 640 acres, 2.59 square kilometers, or 1/36 of a township!